Powers Gold Label Award Winners 1964-88

The famed Powers Gold Label Awards scheme recognized the achievements of Wexford’s top sports stars from 1964 to 1988 inclusive. It was a gala annual event honouring major achievers in all the main sports and during those 25 golden years for handball, the sport proudly took its place amongst the elite on each occasion.

Fittingly perhaps, it was a handballer, the great Dick Lyng from Ballyanne who had been named the winner on the most (6) occasions when the awards ceased in 1988. Dick’s awards were won in ’65, ’66, ’70, ’71, ’79 & ’88 and those named as winners in that final year were presented with special silver jubilee pikeman statuettes in honour of their achievements over the course of the scheme.

Several handballers were honoured on more than one occasion and included Pat Cleary ’86 & ’78, John Fleming ’84 & ’80, Seamus Buggy ’77 & ’70, Pat Murphy ’74 & ’72, Joe Howlin ’73 & ’67 and John Quigley ’69 & ’68.

The great John Ryan was the first recipient when the awards were introduced back in 1964 and he was honoured again as a ‘star of the past’ in 1974.

To see the full list click Powers Gold Label Award winners 1964-88

*We are missing 1985 and if anyone can help please let us know.