Magnificent Kilmyshall claim All Ireland club championship

Wexford’s season of success continued unabated at Conna, County Cork on Saturday last when a magnificent Kilmyshall side took the All Ireland junior B inter club team of 4 championship in terrific style, with a 105-83 win over Ballyporeen, Tipperary.

This is a championship Wexford teams have found it terribly difficult to win over the years and only Enniscorthy in 1976 and 1978, Ramsgrange in 1991, Ballyhogue in 1998 and New Ross in 2000 and 2004 have managed to do so since the competition was started back in 1974.

Padhraic Roberts, Tommy Armstrong, Keith Armstrong and Niall Maher
                                   Padhraic Roberts, Tommy Armstrong, Keith Armstrong and Niall Maher display their medals.

It’s been a wonderful few years for the north Wexford club since they reformed back in 2011, but 2015 will surely be regarded as something special with 7 All Ireland titles to celebrate alongside 8 Leinster and 11 county championships. Truly a wonderful success story and testament to a well organized club and a determined bunch of players.

Keith Armstrong gave them a good start at Conna when he gained a narrow 21-14, 17-21 advantage over Mickey Maher in the opening singles and Padhraic Roberts and Tommy Armstrong crucially maintained that 3 point lead when they shared the spoils and the scores, 21-16, 16-21 against Willie Cahill and Anthony Crotty in the doubles. It fell to Kilmyshall anchorman Niall Maher to clinch the title for his club and he delivered in some style against Jason Cahill. He done the damage in the first game by winning it 21-11 to put Kilmyshall 13 points ahead and needing a further 9 points to clinch the victory, he secured them without reply in the second game.

It brought the curtain down on a great year for the club and ensured a gold plated Christmas for this progressive unit.