Daniel Kavanagh and Anthony Butler minor doubles success keep Wexford clear of the chasing pack

A magnificent performance by Daniel Kavanagh and Anthony Butler secured another All Ireland 60×30 minor doubles crown for Wexford at a packed Croke Park GAA Handball Centre on Saturday last writes Antoin Ó Braoin. The 21-4, 21-9 win over Sean Kerr and Turlough Clark, Tyrone was as impressive as it was emphatic and it put the large Wexford contingent in fine fettle for the remainder of the three match senior doubles programme.

Daniel Kavanagh and Anthony Butler with former greats Seamus Buggy and Dick Lyng
Daniel Kavanagh and Anthony Butler with former greats Seamus Buggy and Dick Lyng after the final

It was a second minor doubles title in succession for Daniel Kavanagh and he joins fellow Wexford players Barry Goff (1996-7), Noel Quigley (1969-70) and John Quigley (1968-9) as two-time winners of this grade. The victory also saw Wexford take the title for the 14th time since its inauguration in 1938 and Saturday’s win took Wexford two clear of our greatest rivals Kilkenny in the roll of honour.

The great John Ryan and Aidan Power were the first Wexford players to win at this level when they triumphed back in 1946 and since then 24 different Wexford players have become holders of All Ireland minor doubles winners medals.

Also at Saturday’s finals, former Wexford greats Dick Lyng and Seamus Buggy were formally acknowledged as the first Croke Park winners of the senior doubles championship when they took the title back in 1970. Still hale and hearty 46 years on, they were in attendance to see another Model County victory inside those hallowed walls.

Another very Wexford occasion at headquarters!